See all opportunities

University of Washington School of Medicine – Diversity Visiting Sub-Internships

Deadline: Visit site for more information

UW Medicine located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest (Seattle) currently offers 17 diversity sub internships that can take place at one or several of its area hospitals including: Seattle Childrens’ Hospital, UW Medicine-Montlake and Northwest, Harborview, VA Puget Sound and several WWAMI regional sites.

Allergy & Infectious Diseases
Website: https://aid.uw.edu/education/aid-scholars-program 
Contact: Theresa Halsell – tgray@medicine.washington.edu

Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
Website: https://depts.washington.edu/anesth/education/clerkships/funding.shtml or
https://sites.uw.edu/apmres/diversity/
Contact: Amy Ravenhorst – anesstu@uw.edu

Dermatology
Website: https://derm.uw.edu/education/visiting-students
Contact: Liz Wright – edwright@uw.edu

Emergency Medicine
Website: https://em.uw.edu/education/emergency-medicine-scholars-program
Contact: Alexis Rush – rusha@uw.edu

Family Medicine
Website: https://familymedicine.uw.edu/education/courses/sub-internship/underrepresented-sub-internship/
Contact: Gwen Credit – gwena@uw.edu

Laboratory Medicine & Pathology
Website: https://dlmp.uw.edu/education/diversity-clerkship
Contact: Allison Correll-Buss – pthclerk@uw.edu

Medicine
Website: https://medicine.uw.edu/education/visiting-scholars-program
Contact: Daniel Cabrera, MD – dancab@uw.edu

Nephrology-Pediatric
Website: https://www.seattlechildrens.org/healthcare-professionals/education/residency-fellowships/uw-pediatric-residency/training/funded-visiting-electives/
Contact: Linda Woltz – linda.woltz@seattlechildrens.org or 425-319-5357

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Website: https://obgyn.uw.edu/education/diversity-visiting-student-program
Contact: Sonya Fukeda – obclerk@uw.edu

Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine
Website: https://orthop.washington.edu/education/medical-students/diversity-visiting-student-program.html
Contact: Plinette Sanchez – plinsan@uw.edu

Otolaryngology-HNS
Website: https://otolaryngology.uw.edu/uw-otolaryngology-diversity-visiting-medical-student-program Contact: Vanncy Crookes – otoadmin@uw.edu

Pediatrics
Website: https://www.seattlechildrens.org/healthcare-professionals/education/residency-fellowships/uw-pediatric-residency/training/funded-visiting-electives/
Contact: Abena Knight, MD – abena.knight@seattlechildrens.org

Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
Website: https://psychiatry.uw.edu/
Contact: Margie Trenary – trenam@uw.edu

Radiology
Website: https://rad.washington.edu/
Contact: Kevin Nguyen – nguyenk6@uw.edu

Rehabilitation Medicine
Website: https://rehab.washington.edu/education/diversity/uwpmr_diversity-sub-i.pdf
Contact: Jong Kim – rehabmeded@uw.edu

Surgery
Website: https://uwsurgery.org/introduction-to-surgical-education3/educationintroduction/div-edu-opps/
Contact: Elina Quiroga, MD, – elinaq@uw.edu or Laura Yale – lauranne@uw.edu

Urology
Website: https://www.washington.edu/urology/education/medicalstudents/diversitysubinternship/ Contact: Isabelle Abarro – iabarro@uw.edu, Dani Townsend – dtowns@uw.edu, or
Mathew Sorensen, MD – mathews@uw.edu